Steam Whistle Mobile

Visit our mobile site on your smartphone.

Steam Whistle's Blog

Check out the Good Beer Folks Blog!

Steam Whistle on FaceBook

Like us 'cause we like you

Steam Whistle Twitter

Follow us on twitter

What people are talking about:


Instagram Photos

Our instagram photos

Steam Whistle - Do One Thing Really, Really Well

Kinship (February Art Show)

Steam Whistle's February art show.

‘Kinship’ is an exhibition from thirteen Toronto artists that explores the symbolic nature of family and the imagery that portraits use to represent togetherness, regardless of any blood relation between subjects. Through drawing, painting and illustration, each artist looks beyond the careful posing and immaculate coifs of tradition in order to present their own interpretation of the family unit. Some are fantastic and curious. Some are dignified and respectable. Some wear matching sweaters.


The Opening Night Party will take place on Wednesday February 6th 2013 from 7-11pm at Steam Whistle Brewing at 255 Bremner Blvd or visit the brewery during all of February to see the exhibition.


 


Artist Link:


Ross McAuley http://rossmcauley.com
Johann Joseph TeBrake http://tebrake.grandportfolio.com/
Amy Killoran http://amykilloran.com/
Gillian Blekkenhorst http://blekkenhorst.ca
Melanie Tranchemontange http://melaniet.com
Trevor Henderson http://trevorhenderson.grandportfolio.com
Tim Comrie http://timcomrie.com/
Erin Rei Ornstein http://erinrei.grandportfolio.com/
Jenn Woodall http://jennwoodall.grandportfolio.com
Ron Boyd http://ronboyd.com/
Sarah Walterhouse http://sarahwalterhouse.tumblr.com
Brendan Derrig n/a
Mary Verhoeven http://illustratingmary.tumblr.com/


About Steam Whistle Gallery:



Steam Whistle Brewing hosts monthly art exhibitions in their Gallery to showcase local creative talent.  Although many exhibitors are established artists, some are showing for the first time.  Steam Whistle does not charge rent for their gallery space, nor is a commission earned on any works that are sold.  At the close of each show, one piece from the show (of the artist’s choice) is donated to their permanent collection bringing further profile to artists through the thousands of visitors to the brewery annually.


 


All exhibitions are open free to the public- Monday to Thursday from 12 noon to 6 pm, Friday and Saturday from 11 am -6pm, and Sunday from 11am to 5 pm.  Steam Whistle Brewing - The Roundhouse - 255 Bremner Blvd.  Toronto. (south of the CN Tower) 416 362 2337 x 246. 


 

Event Details

Date: Wednesday, February 06, 2013
End Date: Thursday, February 28, 2013
Event Type: Art
Location: 255 Bremner Blvd (Steam Whistle Brewery)
Time: Opening Feb 6 - 7pm-11pm
Ticket: Complimentary